Studying Bauhaus

Bauhaus, bauhaus, bauhaus… oh how I have grown to hate it. Not because I don’t like the art work, ideologies or subsequent work it has inspired, but because I can’t get my head around studying it! There is so much to it, with the change of directors, political aspects, change of location… I feel like I should be adding every detail into my work because it all seems relevant. It’s also been hard to focus on masses of text in books or on line, there’s too much there to take in when I attempt to read it so it goes over my head!

… I found a partial solution, I bought my own Bauhaus book so know I can highlight and circle bits that seem relevant and make notes in the margins, hurrah! Also I’ve learnt to leave stuff out and not focus on everything, fingers crossed I may get it finished.

Leave a Reply

